The Christ Factor

Homophobia, Homosexuality, the LGBT Community and the World around Us

Errrm…I’ve never really shared my views on homosexuality; sure I discuss it with friends but I’ve never actually come out to say what I think…I almost never comment on social media, but I think it’s time I took a public stand and I guess this is it. In this post, I can’t promise you won’t be offended, these are my views and thoughts on homosexuality and yes, I did my homework [well I did a bit of research, Google helped, read a lot of articles]; besides I already warned that all or most of my posts would have some God or Christ Factor to it. SO HERE GOES…Sincerely hope I will not be crucified, I’d still pretty much love to get married and not die young.

 

I checked my dictionary for homosexuality and it gave me this definition: sexual attraction between people of the same sex, which means we are talking about sexual orientation. Sexual Orientation is defined by the American Psychological Association as an enduring pattern of emotional, romantic and/or sexual attractions to men, women or both sexes. And now in this world, there’s an entire list concerning sexual orientation: asexual, pansexual, bisexual, homosexual and a whole lot. Thus, in our modern world I guess homosexuality would be synonymous with the LGBT community and not just the traditional same sex attraction.

Having looked up homosexuality, I guess the next question is what are my views on homosexuality??? I decided having an opinion was not good enough so I thought to myself and said, “Man it would be über cool to see what the Bible says about it.” After all, I AM supposed to be able to give an answer to anyone who asks me the reason for the hope in me.

 

Homosexuality is a no, God intended marriage to remain within the confines of male and female, He created Adam and Eve; having mentioned that for the purpose of marriage a MAN shall leave his family and cleave to HIS WIFE. In Romans 1, Paul tells of how man refused to worship or even acknowledge God. The result??? He left them to their SHAMEFUL ways, and to quote it, here’s what it says in the New Living Translation Bible, “So God abandoned them to do whatever shameful things their hearts desired. As a result, they did vile and degrading things with each other’s bodies. They traded the truth about God for a lie. So they worshiped and served the things God created instead of the Creator himself, who is worthy of eternal praise! Amen. That is why God abandoned them to their shameful desires. Even the women turned against the natural way to have sex and instead indulged in sex with each other. And the men, instead of having normal sexual relations with women, burned with lust for each other. Men did shameful things with other men….” Homosexuality is wrong, it is a rejection of the life God created us to have!!!

In Leviticus 18 and 20, not only is homosexuality forbidden, it’s punishable by death. And this is where it gets interesting; I do not condone violence against the LGBT and I believe it is wrong, murder is murder; no one deserves to be deprived of life. Ok I’m rambling a bit, back to the point; often violence against the LGBT is based on these two chapters. First off, I think its important to note that however extreme these measures were, it was to preserve the sanctity of the Jews which were then surrounded by heathen nations; and yes I’m aware that by this very principle I am excluded, but thank God for Jesus who now grants me full access to Him. Thank God for Jesus, who has delivered us from the death penalty, and by us, I mean you, the LGBT, the entire universe and me. Secondly, Jesus came to redeem the sick not the healthy [You can check Luke 5: 31], He did not die so that the perfect have life, nope!!! He died so that we as imperfect and sinful as we are may have life and have it abundantly [John 10:10]; this includes the LGBT. Thirdly, the Bible makes us know in 1 Timothy 2, that God wishes all men be saved, all men, all mankind, the entire human race. Killing these very men because of their sexual orientation defeats that purpose. NEITHER VIOLENCE NOR KILLING IS NOT AN OPTION!!! I CANT STRESS THIS ENOUGH!!!!!!!!!

And still on the subject of homosexuality, homosexuality is not ranked a heavy weight sin. All sin is sin, I am not better off if I’m heterosexual but I’m a liar or a thief or simply bitter; we are all on the same plane …no sin is better than the other; there are no degrees of sin, all sin is sin irrespective of the “weight” attached to it!!!

 

The next hurdle is homophobia. This word is loosely used in many of our circles. The rationale is, I’m anti homosexuality thus I must of necessity be homophobic, something which fazes me all the time. Homophobia is defined (again with the help of my dictionary and a few online readings) as an EXTREME and IRRATIONAL AVERSION to homosexuality and in our 21st century, an extreme aversion to the LGBT. So what qualifies as extreme and irrational aversion??? Extreme or irrational aversion is more or less an abnormal and intense hatred of something. By that logic, homophobia is an abnormal and intense hatred of homosexuality. This means I have a deep-rooted, intense, and vehement hatred towards the entire LGBT community, just because I disagree with their lifestyle choice. It does not seem too logical then to equate disapproval to intense loathing. Let us take this example, say you disapprove a friend’s choice of lifestyle, it doesn’t then mean that you hate him or her, with intensity. In fact more often than not the disapproval is because you know there’s something better outside that lifestyle; something more fulfilling. Thus, that I disapprove of your lifestyle choice does not mean I hate you.

 

The question now is what should be the Christian’s attitude to homosexuals and the LGBT community???

I believe God has called us to love them, irrespective of their lifestyle choices. Let’s take a look at the Bible to see what I mean. In Genesis, way before God hit Sodom and Gomorrah with fire for their many sins, He had a talk with Abraham. He told Abraham, “I’m done with these folks, they sinful and I want to wipe them out”. Abraham could have rejoiced, these were people engaged in sexual perversion and God knows what else, even God had decided to end their existence, they were the baddest crew; but Abraham prayed for them, he didn’t jump and do a high five that they were going to be judged, HE PRAYED. In fact he begged God not to kill them, he said, “Lord, if they have 50 righteous people will you destroy them??? And God says no, but see, Sodom and Gomorrah couldn’t spare 50 righteous people so Abraham goes on begging for their lives until he reaches 10, Sodom and Gomorrah had nun’ so Abraham lost this round. The point I’m making is this, Abraham prayed hard for their deliverance, he didn’t rejoice at their calamity, he interceded for them, had compassion for them. THAT should be our attitude. THAT is the Christian way, Paul tells us in 1 Timothy 2, ALL prayers for ALL men, that ALL MEN MIGHT BE SAVED!!!

 

That settled, I think its fair to do a recap; I’m anti homosexuality, why??? I’m a Christian and it goes against my faith, but in the same stroke, I do not wish for men to die simply because of their sexual orientation, no, they must be saved and in that light I feel more compassion towards them. Don’t get it twisted, just because I don’t agree with their choice of lifestyle doesn’t mean I hate them with vehemence…there’s so much more in Christ, makes me sad that it’s not seen that way. God sent Jesus so we could have so much more…way too much more in life. All men deserve a chance to be saved!

 

Bisous

Until the next time, take care and stay blessed

4 thoughts on “Homophobia, Homosexuality, the LGBT Community and the World around Us

Leave a Reply

